General Information

Location

The Korean Peninsula extends about 1,000 km from the Asian continent into the Pacific Ocean with more than 3,000 islands dotting the coastline. Mountains cover almost 70 percent of the land mass, making the country one of the most mountainous regions in the world and offering abundant forest resources. Administratively, Korea consists of nine provinces with 77 small cities and 88 counties.

Discover Seoul Pass

For international MICE participants, the Seoul Metropolitan Government and Seoul Tourism Organization are providing a 10,000 KRW discount on the Discover Seoul Pass, which provides free admission and discounts at the city’s most popular historical sites, cultural attractions, and experiences.

Pass Lasts for a Fixed Time after First Use

*For a complete list of free and discounted attractions with the Discover Seoul Pass, visit:
https://www.discoverseoulpass.com/attraction/list

Other Pass Functions without Time Restrictions
  • Free one-way boarding pass for the airport express train AREX (single ride at any time)
  • Free one-day pass for Seoul’s public bike system, Ttareungyi (can be used once at any time but will expire midnight of the same day of bike rental)
  • T-Money transit card function: after recharging your Discover Seoul Pass, you can use it as a public transportation (i.e., bus, subway) card

To purchase a Discover Seoul Pass, visit: https://www.discoverseoulpass.com/purchase/pass
Enter your code (2018WONCASEOUL) for your event in the coupon discount box on the order page in order to receive your discount.

Mobile Phone Rental/SIM Card Service

For your comfort and ease of travel during WONCA 2018 Seoul, you may purchase a SIM card or rent a mobile phone conveniently online. Email in an application and be sure to reserve at least three days before arriving in Korea. They can be picked up at Incheon Airport and Gimpo Airport.

Operation Hours & Locations

Stand locations and operation times: here

1F Incheon International Airport Terminal 1, Between Gate 6 and 7 (24/7)
1F Incheon International Airport Terminal 2, Between Gate 6 and 7 (24/7)
1F Gimpo Airport International Terminal (06:30~23:00)
Prepaid Data Sim Card Service:

Get a prepaid SIM card for your cell phone! Easy to use and disposable. Just choose the type and duration from 1 day to 10 days. You can buy the SIM Card at the Incheon airport!

For pricing and reservations: here

Mobile Phone Rentals:

Don’t have a phone with you? No worries! Stay in contact with your family and friends during WONCA 2018 Seoul and rent a mobile phone. Experience the world’s fastest Wi-fi and telecommunications services in the world here

Online Reservations: here

Weather during Wonca

Korea has four seasons, with a wet monsoon/summer season in the middle of the year, and a cold winter from November to March. The island of Jeju off the southern coast is the warmest and wettest place in the country. The ideal time to visit Korea is during the autumn months (September-November). During this time, the country experiences warm, sunny weather, skies that are cobalt blue and spectacular foliage that is perhaps the biggest draw.

Language

Hangeul (한글), Korea’s official alphabet, was first invented by King Sejong during the Joseon Dynasty. Originally called Hunminjeongeum (훈민정음), the language was conceived in 1443, and further promulgated by the King in 1446. At the time of its inception, the language consisted of 17 consonants and 11 vowels however, since then, 3 of the originally established consonants and 1 vowel have fallen into disuse bringing the total number of characters to 24. Syllables are formed by the selective combination of vowels and consonants to create words.

Time Difference

When Indicating Korea Time: Present Time (GMT+9) / No daylight savings time

City Time
Seoul, Tokyo (Korea Time) 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00
Taipei, Manila, Hong Kong,
Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
24:00 03:00 06:00 09:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00
Bangkok, Jakarta 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00
New Delhi, Kolkata 21:30 00:30 03:30 06:30 09:30 12:30 15:30 18:30
Tehran 20:30 23:30 02:30 05:30 08:30 11:30 14:30 17:30
Hamburg, Rome, Paris, Amsterdam 18:00 21:00 00:00 03:00 06:00 09:00 12:00 15:00
London, Madrid 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00
Rio de Janeiro, S`ao Paulo 13:00 16:00 19:00 22:00 01:00 04:00 07:00 10:00
New York, Montreal, Bogota, Toronto 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 03:00 06:00 09:00
Chicago, Houston, Bogota 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00 02:00 05:00 08:00
Vancouver, Seattle, San Francisco,
Los Angeles
09:00 12:00 15:00 18:00 21:00 24:00 03:00 06:00
Sydney, Melbourne 02:00 05:00 08:00 11:00 14:00 17:00 20:00 23:00

Business Hours

Government office hours are usually from 9:00 to 18:00 on weekdays. Banks are open from 9:00 to 16:00 on weekdays. Most stores are open every day from 10:30 to 20:00, including Sundays.

Currency & Exchange

Old Bills
  • 10,000 won (man won)
  • 5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • 1,000 won (cheon won)
New Bills
  • 10,000 won (man won)
  • 5,000 won (ocheon won)
  • 1,000 won (cheon won)
  • 50,000 won (oman won)
Coins
  • 500 won (obaek won)
  • 100 won (baek won)
  • 50 won (osip won)
  • 10 won (sip won)
Tip & Tax

Service charges are included in your bill for rooms, meals, and other services at hotels and upscale restaurants. Koreans occasionally do tip when they are especially pleased with the service they receive. Foreign tourists can receive nearly 10 % VAT refunds for purchases at Duty Free shops. Goods must be taken out of Korea within three months of purchase to be eligible for a tax refund. Visitors can receive a refund on a receipt for a minimum purchase of KRW 50,000 (around USD 43). To receive this refund, present receipts with the purchased goods at the customs clearance desk at Incheon International Airport when departing.

Electricity
The standard electricity supply is 220 volts AC/60 cycles. Most hotels may provide outlet converters for 110 and 220 volts. Participants are recommended to check with the hotel beforehand.
Emergency Phone Numbers
  • 1339: Medical Emergency
  • 119: Emergencies for Fire, Rescue & Hospital Services
  • 112: Police
  • 129: First Aid Services
Useful Websites